Vegan Cannellini bean coconut hummus

This is probably the best hummus I have ever made. Are you bored of chickpea hummus? This is what you need for a change πŸ™‚ With coconut in, it tasted divine. Get rid of coconut if you are not into coconut πŸ™‚

image

Very easy to make and Yum. In a food processor, blend together these ingredients below

  • A can of cannellini beans rinsed very well
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1-2 tsp cumin powder(depending on your taste)
  • Juice from 1/2 lime
  • 1 tbsp olive oil(optional)
  • 1 tbsp unhulled tahini(or more-depending on your taste)
  • 2 Tbsp fresh coconut
  • Salt,Β Paprika-to taste

That’s it. Yummy hummus πŸ™‚

Serve with bread/these amazing Korean Scallion pancakes-Β PaJeonΒ 

image

Β 

18 thoughts on “Vegan Cannellini bean coconut hummus

    • Please do πŸ™‚ I just got a can of red kidney bean-I am thinking about a cilantro based hummus πŸ™‚ And guess what- Sun was here today after 7 days of rain πŸ˜€

      • I love your recipes they are so good. πŸ™‚ Wow sorry to hear you are having so much rain that’s a bit crazy !!! we have had wet weather but not really too much rain so far. In saying that today it rained everyday 😦 Hey have you eaten chorizo before ? vegan ones of course.. I saw many if these being eaten whilst I was working in Mexico… the meat sort of course… I wanted to make some vegan ones so I adapted a recipes and they turned out good.. πŸ™‚ Anyway hope it stays sunnier now for you my vegan friend πŸ™‚ x

  1. Thanks Thom πŸ™‚ So are your recipes πŸ˜€ Yeah it is predicted that we will have sun until Friday. Have to make full use of it πŸ™‚ I think I had chorizo in South Africa πŸ™‚ The cook there in my camp was Mexican. She made a tomato sauce based sausage butter bean dish- It was lovely. Just checked out your recipe πŸ™‚ Looks amazing.

  2. I made this hummus today and it was wonderful! Both my husband and I loved it so much that I’m thinking about making it for a potluck we’re going to on Thursday. I did change the recipe a bit. I rarely use oil, so I left that out and added a bit more tahini. I also only used 1 tsp of cumin because my husband and I don’t care for spicy food. Even without the oil, it was perfect! This is a great recipe! Celeste πŸ™‚

    • Awww πŸ™‚ Am so glad you liked it πŸ™‚ Thanks for the suggestions Celeste. Will update my post with them πŸ™‚

      I guess you are the prefect person for me to ask this πŸ™‚
      I was watching these heart diseases reversal documentaries and how oil is fat. This might sound stupid but do have any ideas of making a curry without oil?

  3. Pingback: 10 Fabulous Vegan Party Foods | Honk If You're Vegan

  4. I think it’s great that you’re trying to cut down on oil. I cut back on it after I read ‘The Engine 2 Diet’ and learned how unhealthful it was. If you’re curious about what I learned, here’s a link:http://engine2diet.com/the-daily-beet/the-big-oil-post-plus-a-giveaway/

    At first I thought it would be hard not to use oil, but over time I’ve learned tricks that really work like sautΓ©ing veggies in water, broth or wine and making salad dressings with avocado instead of oil.

    As far as your question about how to make oil free curry, however; I don’t know that I’m the best person to ask. I’ve only made curry once in my life. I don’t handle heavily spiced foods well, so curry is not something that I eat often. I love the taste of it, but when I eat it my face turns beet red, I sweat like crazy and I’m so uncomfortable that it’s not enjoyable. This may sound strange to you, but I wasn’t raised on spicy foods, so my body doesn’t handle them well.

    I did an online search, however; and found a couple of oil free curry recipes that you might want to check out. Here’s the links:
    http://reigenthevegan.blogspot.com/2012/01/oil-free-vegan-thai-ish-curry.html
    http://lowfatveganchef.com/fat-free-vegan-indian-tarka-chana-dal-an-easy-oil-free-lentil-recipe/

    • Awww. Celeste πŸ™‚ You are the sweetest πŸ™‚ Thanks for taking time to reply. Will check out the links. Cos I guess I reached the steady phase where I am not losing weight. I don’t eat much fried food-it’s always good to get on the healthier side πŸ™‚

      I sort of understand when you say, you haven’t had much curries πŸ™‚ I have loads of friends here who are the same. Having lived in Sydney for a while, I eat lot of normal food rather than Indian food-but it is hard for me to go off it completely. 😦

      Thanks again for the links Appreciate it Celeste πŸ™‚

    • Aww.. That’s such a nice thing to say πŸ™‚ It means a lot – to me esp, cos I have struggled with weight all along πŸ™‚ It is such a good link.I think I am realizing now where I should concentrate πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

